The Art of Repurposing

bellagutierrez.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/img_3058.jpg”>IMG_3058.JPG

<a href=”https://

El Anatsui is a very interesting artist that uses metal, ceramic, bottle caps and wood in different forms. I liked his art form because it creates a picture or an idea from something people think has had its use and it could be discarded. I liked how he brings topics to his work and represents different point of views. It was interesting to see how they were installing his masterpiece stressed world made from bottle caps. He makes his art work a team effort and helps people from his community to get involved with art so that was very good to see.

The PBS documentary also talked about another repurposing artist. Swoon who’s ability to make a picture from sanding wood was very interesting. I liked how free she felt and how she didn’t let any one get in her way, she would go around the city in her bike as she found ideas and new art to work on. I especially liked how she got together with other people to create a repurposing draft, and see it go down the river. That was very cool.
Mark Bradford was the most interesting I thought, as he found a way of making art repurposing street ads. As we were watching it I thought how is this gonna look good? But then you see his art exhibit and it looks totally artistic, so i thought I just had to let him do his thing and the artwork will come to life. He was a very refreshing artist to watch. I really liked that PBS special.

Leave a comment